The new Supreme Court justices have been sworn in,

The new Supreme Court justices have been sworn in

13 0

On Wednesday, Justice Cholendra Shamsher Rana gave newly named Supreme Court justices Kumar Chudal and Nahakul Subedi the oath of and secrecy.

While the supreme court justices used to take their oath of office at the President’s Office, the swearing-in ceremony was conducted at the chief justice’s office in the court. The President’s Office recently informed the court that the function should be held at the court itself.

After the Parliamentary Hearing Special endorsed their names for the position last week, President Bidya Devi named them as justices on Tuesday.

They were nominated for the vacant positions by the Judicial Council on March 12. They were chief judges at Patan High Court and Surkhet High Court, respectively, until now.

ALSO READ  The House instructs the government to store unidentified human bodies for a period of 20 years

The Supreme Court Bar Association and some media had argued before the parliamentary hearing that Subedi lacked the necessary to be considered for the role. A writ petition was also filed against him, but the Supreme Court cleared the way.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *